Hitotsubashi Journal of Economics


Hitotsubashi Journal of Economics (HJE), initiated in 1960, is a general-interest journal that publishes high-quality and innovative research in all disciplines of economics, edited jointly by Hitotsubashi Universityʼs Faculty of Economics and Institute of Economic Research. Building upon the strong tradition of Hitotsubashi University, established in 1875 as the first business school in Japan, HJE aims at striking a good balance of theoretical and empirical research by publishing a wide range of theoretical and empirical papers. We welcome papers that articulate their novel and significant contributions to the literature in clear and plain language. Papers published in HJE, an open access journal included in the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) journal list, attract wide international readership and citations, reflected in its growing impact factor.

About this Journal

Included in the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) journal list.

5 Year Impact Factor
2021: 0.766, 2020: 0.473, 2019: 0.569, 2018: 0.415, 2017: 0.179

Turnaround Time (2020-2021 average)
Mean time to rejection in the first round: 1.02 months
Mean time to first decision: 0.76 months
Mean time from submission to acceptance of final version: 6.40 months
Mean time from receipt of final version to print publication: 6.58 months


Manuscript should be sent as an e-mail attachment to:


Hitotsubashi Journal of Economics is an open access journal, published twice annually. Table of contents for each issue and all the papers published in the journal are downloadable in pdf format for free of charge from HERMES-IR.
Web page of Hitotsubashi Journal of Economics in HERMES-IR


Hitotsubashi Journal Editorial Office: Hitotsubashi University, Kunitachi, Tokyo 186-8601, Japan.

Editorial Team


Hodaka Morita


Nobuhiko Nakazawa    Motohiro Sato    Toshitaka Sekine    Kensuke Teshima    Yohei Yamamoto

Associate Editors

Eiji Kurozumi   Yosuke Okada   Reo Takaku   Yuta Takahashi   Eiichi Tomiura   Takashi Ui   Naoki Wakamori   Naoki Yoshihara

Editorial Administrator

Ikuko Fujishiro